Artist              LEE PERRY & FRIENDS
Album Title     CHAPTER TWO OF "WORDS"
Date of Release    Sep 28, 1999 (approx.) inprint
Type   compilation
Time   67.08 minutes

01. Words (Intro) - Lee Perry & The Upsetters -
02. Forward Up - The Stingers -
03. Forward (Version) - The Upsetters -
04. Nebuchadnezzer - The Upsetters -
05. Peace - Chenley Duffus & The Soul Avengers -
06. Peace (Version) - The Upsetters -
07. Three Blind Mice - Leo Graham -
08. Mice Skank - The Upsetters -
09. Station Underground News - Lee Perry & The Upsetters -
10. Sunshine Showdown - Lee Perry & The Upsetters -
11. Sunshine Showdown Version - Lee Perry & The Upsetters -
12. Dr Who - I. Roy -
13. Sunshine Rock - Dave Barker -
14. Rasta Dub - Dennis Alcapone -
15. Rasta (version) - The Upsetters -
16. Space Flight - I. Roy & Lee Perry -
17. Burning Wire - Jerry Lewis & Lee Perry -
18. Militant Rock - Lee Perry & The Upsetters -
19. Sliver Locks - The Upsetters -
20. Words - Lee Perry & The Upsetters -
21. Little Flute Chant - The Upsetters -
22. Hot Tip - Prince Django -

Produced by Lee "Scratch" Perry

The 22 tracks on Chapter 2 of "Words" all date from 1972-3, a period when Lee "Scratch" Perry was a sort of nomad, recording tracks at various studios and mixing them at King Tubby's. The music reflects this, varying widely in sound and feel, from the traditional to the far-out, from the heartfelt to the downright goofy. This lack of cohesion prevents Chapter 2 of "Words" from being completely satisfying, but the same can be said of many attempts to chronicle Perry's career, which has been as chaotic and confusing as it has been brilliant and prolific.

LSP devotees will be particularly interested in the link Chapter 2 of "Words" provides between his Upsetter records era (circa 1970) and the rise of the Black Ark (1975). While Perry still employs some of the basic techniques of his earlier records (in fact, I. Roy's "Dr. Who" is simply a DJ version of the 1969 Upsetters release "Medical Operation"), he exploits improving sound quality to put more emphasis on the bass and drums. This in turn permits him to drop other instruments out of the mix, rely less on vocals, and experiment with tape manipulations and sound effects, beginning his journey into the uncharted territory of dub. For a quick reminder of just how far ahead of his time Perry was, check out "Station Underground News, " which employs both pseudo-rapping and a "sample" from the Chi-Lites' "(For God's Sake) Give More Power to the People, " or the aptly named "Space Flight, " with vocals by Scratch and I. Roy over a bed of hard rhythm and futuristic synth effects.
-- Bill Cassel, All Music Guide

Trojan CDTRL425